Do I Suffer?

Do I suffer?

*

Not pain or fools or the slow passing of time

Not the hollow knock on the bottom of promises

or the shrinking dryness of a joy expired

*

Nor for the future of children

or the disappointment of mice

or the shrill cheerfulness of martyrs

*

But in reality perceived

The happiness hanging on the tree

The grey of a Monday you can touch

*

For the present absent and the absent present

Attaching to forms so well

the joins don’t show

*

In delusion so strong it can brick me out of bliss

out of loving as a verb and into a private prison

where I bump into self-made walls

*

For whom do I suffer?

For me or for you?

Do I have a choice?

*

The answer is in life

and the choosing of it

-*-

2 Comments

Filed under Mumbo Life, Mumbo poems, Mumbojumbosheepism, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Do I Suffer?

  1. adele

    Living incurs suffering and suffering occurs also when one has no life of which to speak.
    I think that my version sounds similar to the less eloquently put “life’s a bitch and then you die!”.xx

  2. mumbo

    And maybe throw, ‘Shit happens’ into there too, Darling;) Get chopping that wood to make sure this Winter admits the minimum of weather-led misery, for one thing… xxxx

Leave a Reply

