I’m talking to you

If you ever wonder how you come across, what people think of you, how you will be interpreted, don’t.

Walk over to your laptop and visit any site whatsoever that features feedback.

Amongst humankind there is no consensus: for as many people as there are who love Shane Ritchie’s portrayal of Alfie Moon in Eastenders there are as many who hate him.

More than that, there are people who think he’s bloody lucky to play the role (even if that wasn’t what they were asked to comment on), people who think he has a funny voice and at least two people who would like to cast his exceptional ears in stone and mount them on their mantelpiece.

Does this reassure or terrify you?

When you write, you consider your audience. You try to connect.

Because if you thought about the people who wouldn’t get you, who would misinterpret you, who think they were born to misinterpret you, you wouldn’t bother, would you?

Yes, I’m talking to you, the one that gets me.

And if you get me do you think I am reassured?

Or terrified?

And does your silence mean you care?

Or not?

2 Comments

Filed under Mumbo Life, Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m talking to you

  1. Geth

    I feel suitably chastised. I promise I will start to comment more on your wonderful musings. xxxxx

  2. mumbo

    Duly noted, Mr Stout. I’ll be keeping a running total of supportive comments in a logbook by the washing machine. x

Leave a Reply

