The Day

The first flush of rays and I’m yours to make or break,

To mortalise, immortalise,

To make a prize fool.

*

You are cherishable, perishable,

We could do magic, you and I.

*

Or will you be grey? Are you mostly? When white?

At the promise of my birth?

Or at my death?

*

Mid-morning I have your number,

Can insist,

Can run with you,

Getting it.

*

I want you more now I know you better.

Now I know you better I want you more.

Can’t get enough,

It’s you, you’re giving me the reason.

*

Else I can resist,

Can race from you,

Can set my cap at the second flush of rays.

*

The afternoon you’ve got me stuck,

You’ve set me up,

I am your bitch.

*

My best laid plans smiling in the air

Or sidelined,

Muffling underground.

*

And then the night, great charcoal void,

Kicked from your cab,

Facing my diary-less soul.

*

The abyss of the maybes,

The numberless ruler,

The stars and their minuteful lights.

*

When you end and we’re over,

It’s sudden and still.

Applauded, deplored for the dids and did nots,

Both with an eye on tomorrow.

*

But me no longer me

And you no longer you

And our one chance a history.

-*-

1 Comment

Filed under Mumbo Life, Uncategorized

One response to “The Day

  1. Geth

    Today I made a mountain out of the mash that I didn’t eat from the work canteen. A fucking mountain! Beat that.

Leave a Reply

